I was alive in July 2022

July’s main event was a gig by the almighty GODFLESH. Originally planned for the time before-Covid, the festival could finally happen this year.

It feels me with dread that the general public has decided to be over Covid and to disregard all, even the most obvious, security precautions. Fortunately, we were not infected while having a blast. Godflesh, or even JK Broadrick in general, had a monumental hand in shaping the music I enjoy at a certain moment in my life. Tremendously and thoroughly, my perception was expanded in new ways, including one that resulted in my taking up the mantle.

It’s inspiring to see JKB and Benny still at it but not stuck at it. The new Godflesh is still expanding what it is and it’s a beauty to watch.

Copyright with the author, more photos here.

Creatively not much happened, however, I did draft one interesting idea that might be of some use. I posted it earlier. It has been submitted for a compilation and I will of course let you know once it’s out.

Even with little action, I am actively thinking about Album 3, trying my hand at some singing melodies, and rewriting some poems into something that could be used. I am a very unstable singer and it feels like every time I find a voice to perform, I lose it the next day.

‘Sirens’ is something that has been haunting me. I have drafted two versions but like neither after a short while. It’s, of course, a reaction to what is happening some kilometers east over the border, channeling also my thoughts of (potential) parenthood and the misanthropy of the experience we create in the world as a species.

It does contain, however, one blunt phrase I like.

Hateful world
Spiteful place
Man-made darkness

I am also trying my hand at bass, trying to DOOM. What’s new, eh? Together with a long-known friend still from BiaƂystok, we want to record a kick-ass doom extravaganza, inspired by the Northman, space, Sleep, fantasy, especially old fantasy paintings/drawings. It’s going slow but I want it to happen.

DOOM

Music diary

Listening diary for July 2022

Party Dozen’s ‘The Real Work’ is the standout here, combining my love of noise rock and cool jams, the album was on a constant repeat for a good while. Happy to report it’s not their only one so I’ll be jumping into that for sure.

Other noisy favourites are Cavernlight which I found at the tail-end of the month. It’s a fantastic, dark collection of diverse metal tracks which helped with the whole doom thing. Inspiring.

Nina Nastasia’s record is on the sonic opposite of the spectrum compared to the two records mentioned above but it’s even darker due to the real-life connotations. Still, even as a work of art, it’s an emotive song collection dealing with grief, anger, and love.


Watch diary

Watching diary for July 2022

Super happy to have a very diverse and robust diary for July including some immediate new favourites.

Adaptation. from my boy Charlie Kaufmann (Synecdocche is one of my favourites ever), shows how it’s done. Nic Cage, Meryl Streep, and the expected but always refreshing funny despair of Kaufmann, this time (almost) literally.

Cabaret, a continuation of the Fosse catalog from last month’s All That Jazz. Inspiring style and confidence, or at least the pursuit of a truth to show, as can be seen via the Fosse/Verdon limited series (very fun with strong performances).

Dune, a rewatch, made me a fan the second time around.

Crimes of the Future, managed to catch it in theatres and really enjoyed it. A tastefull/less meditation on our failings to control the world, of which we are a part of.

Grande Bellaza, another one for the canon of ‘artist with issues experiences weird life’. Love it.


Next month I’m trying something else. It might be super disjointed but it will be more raw and immediate.

Bonus dog pic!

Take care.

Bartosz

Leave a comment